Group Members

Julia Chan

Professor, Principal Investigator

Professor Julia Chan (B.S. in Chemistry, Baylor University; Ph.D., University of California at Davis) began her faculty appointment at Louisiana State University in Fall 2000, after spending two years as a National Research Council Postdoctoral Associate at the National Institute of Standards and Technology in the Materials Science and Engineering Laboratory. She then moved her research group to the University of Texas at Dallas Fall 2013. Her research interests involve synthesis of materials that exhibit metal-to-insulator transitions, mixed valence, highly correlated electronic systems, superconductivity, and materials for energy conversion. Efforts are placed on the crystal growth, structures, and properties of new materials. Prof. Chan has published over 160 papers and given over 100 invited talks. She has graduated 20 Ph.D. students and has mentored over 40 undergraduates in her laboratory. Prof. Chan’s awards include NSF Career Award, American Crystallographic Association Margaret C. Etter Early Career Award, Baylor University Outstanding Alumni Award, Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship, Iota Sigma Pi Agnes Fay Morgan Award, American Chemical Society Exxon Mobil Faculty Fellowship in Solid State Chemistry and one of 12 Profiled in 2002 C&E News series on “Women in Chemistry”, highlighting women making an impact in the chemical sciences. She is currently an editor of Science Advances and served on the Editorial Advisory Board of Chemistry of Materials and Inorganic Chemistry.

972.883.3595 BSB 11.530

Justin Felder

Postdoctoral Associate

Ph.D. Chemistry, 2018 University of South Carolina

Abbey Neer

Postdoctoral Associate

Ph.D. Chemistry, 2018 University of Southern California

Ashley Weiland

Graduate Student

B.S. Chemistry, 2017 Duquesne University

Daniel Tague

Graduate Student

B.S. Chemistry, 2018 Keene State College

Lucas Eddy


David Chaparro


Joseph Schacherer


Former PhD Members

Katherine Benavides

Ph.D., August 2018

B.S. Chemistry, 2014 Auburn University

Iain Oswald

Ph.D., August 2017

Steve Deese

Ph.D., December 2016

Joint with Prof. Jayne Garno

Pilanda Watkins-Curry

Ph.D., August 2015

LaRico J. Treadwell

Ph.D., December 2014

Bradford W. Fulfer

Ph.D., August 2013

Gregory Morrison

Ph.D., August 2013

Devin C. Schmitt

Ph.D., May 2013

Michael Kangas

Ph.D., December 2012

W. Adam Phelan

Ph.D., May 2012

Melissa C. Menard

Ph.D., December 2011

Brenton L. Drake

Ph.D., December 2011

Kandace Thomas

Ph.D., December 2010

Edem Okudzeto

Ph.D., December 2009

Jung Young Cho

Ph.D., December 2008

Dixie Gautreaux

Ph.D., August 2008

Jasmine Millican

Ph.D., May 2007

Evan Thomas

Ph.D., December 2006

Willa Williams

Ph.D., August 2006

Robin Macaluso

Ph.D., December 2004

Former Undergraduates

Keaton Barron

Undergraduate Student

Anthony Samuel

Graduate Student

B.S. Chemistry 2017

The University of Texas at Dallas

Joe Burnett

Ph.D. Student

Mathematical Sciences

B.S. Physics, 2017

M.S. Mathematics 2017

The University of Texas at Dallas